Good evening ladies and gentlemen,

 Mesdames  et messieurs les représentants de l’Etat de Genève, mesdames messieurs les représentants de la Ville de Genève, Monsieur le directeur general du Cern, Ariane,

 I am very happy to welcome you at the final lecture of my residency Collide@Cern Geneva.

 It has been a truly inspiring time for me to be here.

 I had the unique opportunity to live and work in the middle of the largest particle physic laboratory in the world and I would like to thank everybody here @ Cern for making me feel so welcome.

 I want to thanks especially Ariane Koeck for being a fantastic facilitator and mediator between art and science. With great sensibility she introduced me to many scientists that have taken some of their precious time to meet with me.

Thanks to all of you, it has been fantastic!

 I also want to especially thank everybody @ Cern that helped us organize the different live intervention we did on the site, always a challenge to play out of the box…

 For this lecture, I will concentrate on the main lines of my investigation. I will try to show where I stand artistically after the months I have spent in Cern. What I can say is that it is only the beginning as I’ve only had a flavour of what could be possible to develop in relation to dance and physics.

 I have discovered a tiny percentage of this fabulous  universe of Cern. But what I have “seen”, maybe I should say, “felt”, even in the tiniest experiment always had so many layers and connections between mind, knowledge, abstraction and passion… During my time here, I tried to melt into the space to become one of the natural branch of investigation of this gigantic lab.

 I found so interesting in physics the a priori counter intuitive approach in which theory comes before observation… this very interesting zone of tension between knowledge and counter intuition…

 What I brought  in with me as a choreographer was my embodied knowledge. My ability to trigger thoughts and emotions inside the viewer’s brain, by organizing the movement of bodies in space and time by matter of intuition. 

 It might seem a bit abstract, but it does work!

Contemporary dance does just this!

It is a trigger to think laterally.

 Contemporary dance is based on the juxtaposition of different non narrative performative strategies. What you see is what you think…

You are free to think whatever you want, but there is a structure to guide you, embedded in the piece you are watching. To me, as a spectator, contemporary dance is about watching choreographic structures unfolding and thinking for myself.

 What I have learned @ Cern is that fundamental research is… fundamental.

In science but also in the arts.

 In Europe, dance is a “production based” activity we don’t search enough and produce too much. But just like in science, we need dedicated labs in contemporary dance. Science shows us the importance of research to feed knowledge.  Actually we should not call it “search” or “research” but fundamental knowledge building.

Building fundamental knowledge without the necessity to make a “product” at the end.

But the most important  lesson I have learned in Cern is that knowledge is there only to be shared…

Image

Image

Image

Watch the full lecture at: http://www.gillesjobin.com/spip.php?article1123 (in english)