Here my recommendation for La Batie Festival. Click on the image for direct link to La Batie’s website

Image

Gilles Jobin Company’s dancer Susana Panadez Dias collaborates with two South African Choreographers and two musicians. A great creation, and for what I have seen in rehearsals.. Not to be missed!

Image

My congolese friend Faustin Linekula is probably one of the most interesting african contemporary choreographer. His work deals with questions of identity and his an expression of urban africa. I have not seen this piece, but I will be there because it is always interesting. Contemporary art made in Africa!

Image

Slightly overrated if unique in his style, Jérôme Bel, french choreographer, has spent his last 10 years deconstructing contemporary dance. You hate it or love it, I find myself in the middle, but his work is always interesting. In this production he works with Theater Hora a disabled company. For what I heard the piece is very interesting… A must seen for better understanding new tendencies in contemporary dance and theater.

Image

Peeping Tom is a dance company form Belgium that is very popular. They do a very theatrical work that audiences all over the world find captivating due to the level of great interpreters on stage. In my selection it is the most mainstream choice… for the record, I was at dance school with company leader Frank Chartier about one hundred years ago, which happens to be the uncle of our dancer Louis Clément Da Costa! (seen in open rehearsal of Spider Galaxies@cern in July)… Just like physics, dance is small world!

Image

Marie Caroline Hominal, ex company dancer still working with Geneva based choreographer La Ribot is now working on her own creation for some years. In this project she works with her brother, visual artist and shooting star David Hominal .  I have not seen this durational piece, but I will do!  It is worth going and have a look, and for what I’ve heard stay at least 40mn out of the 4 hours…

Image

In theater, as Cern members you might be attracted by local director Dorian Rossel‘s piece Cosmos? I have not seen or have heard, so you go on your own risks!

Image

Musician POL does his thing during La Bâtie. He was running the sound on KYMA system during the open rehersal of Spider Galxies we did at the cafeteria this summer. Heavy duty sound, this is next level  electronic music!

Image

I always missed Canadian choreographer Benoit Lachambre, but I won’t this time! Amazing interpreter, he danced for Meg Stuart between others, his work his quite radical in its texture. Accompanied by talented multi-instrumentalist Hahn Rowe, puts his body into a state of perpetual transformation

Image

Theater, the master Heiner Goebbels, nothing to say, a master…

Linah Saneh and Rabih Mroué…. Fantastic work from Beyrouth. I have not seen this piece, but all they do is so interesting! Very much based on the life of being lebanese in a contradictory country… See reality in a different and humorous way! Lina and Rabih offer a double reflexion on the power of Facebook social network and on the Lebanon’s political paralysis… A must see!

And there is more shows to discover… Trust your intuition!

tagcern