The 31st of July we presented a ful length dress rehersal of one of my latest creation Spider Galaxies. The idea being to invite scientist into our labs, the dance space…

 

The restaurent of cafeteria 1 was turned into a beautiful dance studio for the afternoon. I am very hapy because one of the idea of my initial project was to find spaces to present dance@cern. The Cafeteria offered a  nice 8mx11m dance space and enough room for about 50 to 100 people.

We received some nice feedback from scientists. It is a unique experience to get to see dancers from so close! It is like seeing top class olympic athletes practicing in a few meters away from you!

Phycicist Panos Charitos feedback

“First of all I would like to thank you because I thought this was a wonderful performance. Indeed I was never expecting that all these beautiful feelings and emotions could ever come out from a machine like LHC.
Loneliness and partnership, fear and joy, trembling and tranquility … human’s basic instincts were all there (at least in my eyes) and I am stunned by the fact that they were all inspired from a machine that collides particles in our effort to grasp the fundamental laws of nature, the evolution of our universe.
Although I am not an expert in contemporary dance this was one of the most beautiful performances I have ever seen. I would also like to share some of my thoughts regarding the penultimate(?) scene where three of the dancers are lying on the floor, spotting the body of a dancer with their laser-pointers. This made me to recall the Lacanian teaching about the body. Lacan distinguished three basic possibilities of experiencing the body, namely the symbolic (or scientific), the imaginary (or ideal) and the real body and stated that the real body is only emerging in our efforts to symbolize or idealize the body which are bound to remain incomplete and fragile.
I tend to agree with Lacanians (but interestly with modern theologians) that the 21st century will mark the return of the body.  A body that has been neglected and hyper-mediated over the 20th century. So, that part of the choreography reminded me how the light produced at LHC, the beams travelling at the speed of light , the light that lies in the cathedral of science (so important for science from cosmology to communications) has marked our body – perhaps in a way that we could never have a return to the “real” body…and yet opens a space of aporia and heterogeneity.
To the extend that choreography is concerned with the human body, Jobin’s latest intervention reminded us the role and the importance of science and challenges us to rethink what the “real body” is and how it can be rediscovered.     Congratulations!”

tagcern