The opportunity to be in contact, in the city where I live with what is the largest scientific experiment in the world through the collide@cern residency program is extraordinarily fascinating as well as intellectually challenging. A choreographer deals with time and space in a concrete world while CERN scientists deal with time and space at subatomic levels. The concepts in particle physics are so abstract that one must totally disconnect from its personal experience to apprehend them.  Grasping some of those concepts, it seems to me that my body has changed its very texture: I have become an amalgam of emptiness, an “assemblage” of elements bound together by huge cosmic forces. I am not one body anymore but billions of atoms and particles, stardust flying into space…

I am embedded with the masters of abstractions…

At this stage I can only guess how this residency is going to influence my practice of movement. I feel at CERN like an exotic particle, charmed and strangely related, going up and down the CERN corridors… I have the intuition that this experience will trigger new concepts in the way I build choreography.

The good thing is that I already know how to ride a bicycle…

Image